The Meaning of Sutras
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Bodhi Tree

2972 Posts

Posted - Oct 02 2015 :  12:09:34 PM  Show Profile  Visit Bodhi Tree's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been practicing samyama everyday day now for about four years, and I wanted to share how the particular sutras have become more meaningful and manifest in my life.

---
Love:
There is a recurring warmth in my heart that is persistently flowing throughout daily activity. I work a 40-hour-per-week job at a non-profit medical organization, and I talk to nurses on the phone for a large part of my shift. These nurses are in volatile units at the hospital (ER, ICU, CCU, etc.), and I have found so much love when talking to them. There is this deep compassion and understanding that is felt in our exchanges. It is both intoxicating and liberating.

I seem to fall in love in a more universal sense, more than I ever did before starting practices. I notice the beauty in people who I might have deemed "ugly" prior to beginning samyama. This universal love is so addictive, that I know that I will have to keep surrendering to it.

Radiance:
The inner light that shines forth from people's eyes has become remarkably apparent. A brief glance can evoke a swell of joy within me. The radiance of the sun upon all of nature is far more appreciated, as is the luminescence of the moon. Last night I drove to a remote park in Florida and gazed at the moon and stars in solitude. When I returned to my apartment, I had a very cheerful discussion with my brother, and the radiance had clearly contributed.

Unity:
The interconnectedness of life is so important, and since dropping this sutra in silence for several years now, I communicate with more people than ever before (online, in person, and beyond). I have been to 4 AYP retreats now, and I keep in contact with AYP practitioners around the nation and world.

Health: