New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Kim

Finland
56 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2011 :  2:56:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit Kim's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Steve Vai

"It's easy to become rich and famous and a rock star, a great musician or artist, but it is virtually impossible to still the mind." - Steve Vai

As this was the only section in the forum which covers people and persons, I put the thread for Steve Vai here :)

I was a professional guitarist and music producer at younger age and was endlessly inspired by Steve Vai and his music. Here's a bried introduction to Steve for those who are not familiar with him: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erX2W4qT2vA

At one point I realized I was never going to be as good a guitar player as Steve is, so I quit. Well, I had other reasons as well. I had to find a more direct method to the core ;)

I've read from his diaries that even at a very young age he used to apply techniques of meditation kriyas into his guitar practice. I know that he has studied with several therapists who use methods derived from Eastern teachings. He has been a student of Taoist Kung Fu teacher Paulie Zink (who was also Paul Grilleys Yin Yoga teacher). And he is a practitioner of Sant Mat Meditation.

I'm writing a book of the Zen-element in Steve's music and I thought I'd open this discussion if there are other people who have perceived the depth in Steve's music.

And here's the classic, For the Love of God, with the original vid :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiTX...ture=related

Edited by - AYPforum on Dec 05 2011 3:25:39 PM

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2011 :  3:39:19 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I don't think many will reach the technical proficiency of Steve Vai. Famously in Frank Zappa's band, a man not known for his musical simplicity or lax standards.