Vicodin Lessons
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Jim and His Karma

2111 Posts

Posted - Oct 12 2011 :  4:41:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Well, this is interesting.

I've never done opiates before, but after a particular horrendous bout of oral surgery this morning, I popped a Vicodin a couple of hours ago, and was surprised to find that it's similar enough to the post-kundalini body/mindspace that I don't feel like it's changed much. I've always told my friends that if you could reduce yoga's bodily sensation to pill form, the pill would be worth a ton. So I guess I understand why people go nuts over vicodin, etc!

But the differences are what's interesting. Without Vicodin, I can choose to feel this way, or I can choose not to. If I allow myself to be drawn back to obsession with the external drama, this feeling goes away...but's always there to return to, all it takes is a dab of surrender. But on vicodin, there's no choice. This is where I am, this is how I feel. It's like I'm on rails; a sort of canned, artificial experience that's a lot less free and natural. My mind's slightly fuzzy, and I can't sharpen it, because I'm stuck in this one state. It's a bit cheap; a pale imitation of the natural opiates triggered by yoga.

But another facet of this feels much less "cheap": my pain really has vanished. That's involuntary, as well, but in this case, I'm grateful for the loss of free will! And it reminds me that while I live my life mostly expanded beyond identification with this body, my response to physical pain still contracts me way down to very much being in this body. I.e. when the going gets tough in that particular way, yogic detachment/expansion/silence gets real distant and theoretical!