Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Nutter dumb question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lmaher22

USA
217 Posts

Posted - May 23 2011 :  1:29:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Sometimes I feel the desire to do the DM more than twice a day. Should I resist the urge or give it a shot? I've been hanging around a Buddhist place for a couple of years and I know the head guy would say 'do whatever feels right.' But different rules for different ballparks. I'll follow what's suggested here.

Edited by - AYPforum on May 23 2011 1:30:33 PM

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - May 23 2011 :  1:30:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - May 23 2011 :  4:38:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Originally posted by lmaher22

Sometimes I feel the desire to do the DM more than twice a day. Should I resist the urge or give it a shot? I've been hanging around a Buddhist place for a couple of years and I know the head guy would say 'do whatever feels right.' But different rules for different ballparks. I'll follow what's suggested here.

It's not recommended. Might be interesting to understand why you feel the need? Do you have a habit of going flat out at new things?

There is a point during practice that it becomes almost automatic. You then move into constant meditation at all times of the day or night until the distinction becomes blurred because meditation is happening more and more anyway. Pushing at the beginning can sometimes result in burn out and a feeling of total discomfort.

Try meditating more often just to experience the discomfort if you need to. It's not pleasant but maybe you need to experience the boundaries.

Better to take some exercise instead, but your inner Guru knows what is necessary.