Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 difficulty in siddhasana
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wannabeyogi

USA
3 Posts

Posted - May 20 2011 :  8:41:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello,
I have been practising siddhasana for a couple of years now, but the progress seems to be slow. I am not able to sit in that position for more than 15 min. My legs go numb after that. Is there a way to make the progress faster? Are there any other asanas that I would help to get good at siddhasana sooner?
Thanks for your help
Amit

maheswari

Lebanon
2516 Posts

Posted - May 21 2011 :  02:03:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
just sit in whatver asana makes u confortable...
remember asanas are only a tool ...they are a beginner aid to the vast world of Self Realization...and this is the aim of yoga ...
Go to Top of Page

Medea

Netherlands
115 Posts

Posted - May 21 2011 :  3:24:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Wannebeyogi,

The main purpose of siddhasana is stimulating the energies upwards. If you cannot achieve that with your heel (because your feet get numb), you can use something else to sit on to achieve the same effect.

quote:
Originally posted by yogani Women who find it difficult to reach either the perineum (yoni opening) or clitoris with their heels may choose to use prosthetic objects to achieve the same effects. It is perfectly okay and is valid yoga, as long as the principle of ongoing preorgasmic stimulation during sitting practices is achieved. So, if the legs do not fold well, and/or the heel(s) do not reach, the effects of advanced siddhasana can still be achieved sitting in a chair, or anywhere, if the appropriate stimulating objects are used. The same goes for men, of course.

More info here: http://www.aypsite.org/T28.html