Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Hello, from a formerly lost soul
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

EverVigilant

USA
9 Posts

Posted - Feb 07 2011 :  8:25:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Just thought I'd check in and say hi.

I'm 27, male, and a complete newbie to this. Worse than a newbie, because I have a history of completely unproductive, parastic living and alcoholism.

Something's looking out for me, because all this past year (2010) there have been striking synchronicities in my life, leading me to a powerfully vivid and terrifying dream in December and a sudden realization that I need to radically turn things around. It's a long story, but undeniably a divine intervention. I quit drinking and smoking cold turkey, and suffered the withdrawal.

In the days following this "awakening", I first found Samael Aun Weor's teachings. With them I am in a morbid cycle of being drawn to them because of how compelling and fitting they are, and repelled because with a good look in the mirror I see I am so far gone I'm sure I'm going to be chucked into the fire. Then I try to console myself with Nietzsche's concept of "amor fati". Yeah, it's not too consoling, but hey, it's the best a hellbound soul can do.

I've decided the morbid cycle is unhealthy. So I've come here, which seems to be a more encouraging road. Although I am lazy, so I wonder if fear actually would be the better motivator. But the fear gets to the point of hopelessness, and then that's no good.

Anyway, AYP looks like it's worth a shot. The starting commitment seems small and promises results, and from the people on these forums who have been practicing here for a long time, it doesn't look like it turns you into a Black Magician.