Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 quick question about mantra and breathing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

davidot

Sweden
4 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2011 :  10:55:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, I am new to this,

Should I be thinking "I" when breathing in and "AM" when breathing out? Should I try to not separate into two words and go IAM instead? I somehow can not avoid synchronising the mantra with my breath, what should I do?

Am grateful for tips and advice
Thanks

Christi

United Kingdom
4430 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2011 :  11:37:58 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi David,

If you want to use two words, "I" and "AM" there is nothing wrong with that. It comes down to the same thing as one word in the end.

Try to avoid synchronizing the mantra with the breath if you can. In the beginning there is nothing wrong with it in terms of practice, but the problem is that it will become a habit which will be difficult to give up later. As your meditation deepens the breath can become very shallow and almost imperceptible. It can also suspend altogether at times. When this happens, if the mantra is tied to the breath then you will lose the mantra at the times when the breath is lost which is something that you don't want.
Go to Top of Page

davidot

Sweden
4 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2011 :  4:38:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you Christi,
I will try to avoid synchronising, perhaps I should try to avoid thinking about my breathing completely?
Go to Top of Page

Panthau

Austria
149 Posts

Posted - Jan 18 2011 :  01:08:13 AM  Show Profile  Visit Panthau's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply