Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 How to know when a chakra is awakened?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tantor

United Kingdom
14 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2010 :  07:11:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I've been practicing meditation of one sort or another for about 10 years, teaching myself, so my progress hasn't been perhaps as fast as it could have been.

I've been reading several books by Swami Saraswati Satyananda again recently ("Kundalini Tantra" and "Kriya Yoga"). In it, they give meditations and methods to "awaken" each of the chakras.

About 4 years ago I was sat in meditation, and became totally single-pointed in my awareness on the lower dan tien. My etheric body seemed to detach from my physical body, and my energy seemed to 'solidify'. Then, as golden lights flashed in my third eye, I felt something wriggle out of my perineum, up my spine and dissipate at manipura. It felt *amazing*.

A few months prior to that I'd been doing bhastrika when I could (my practise was irregular since I was travelling throughout all this time), and several nights as I lay falling asleep my body would become paralysed, and a similar feeling would wriggle out of my perineum.

Fast forward to recently, and I'm a little confused by the granthis and awakening the chakras. Do the chakras need "awakening" before each meditation, or is it more like a single memorable event that takes place, afterwhich it is from that point awakened? Is it similar with the granthis too? Do they need relaxing somehow, or is it that if they are broken once, they remain broken?