I need some help understanding meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

tonightsthenight

846 Posts

Posted - May 03 2010 :  08:56:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone :)

I have a question regarding meditation.

First, I'll start by explaining that i have been meditating for several years, and that I have never practiced any "official" form of meditation. I've only done what has felt natural at the time. I either sit in (what i now know as) siddhana, or lay in savasana (corpse pose). Meditation simply came natural to me immediately after K awakening, and it has had an immeasurable impact on my life.

I have just found AYP, and i have discovered that there is a ton of great information and great people here! As i read through the information, however, i find a lot of words that i may have seen around but that i don't really understand. When I have researched the meaning of some of these terms, i find that, hey, i totally get it, i've been there and I completely understand it.

So in that spirit, my question is about meditation, samahdi, and generally the higher levels of consciousness pertaining to those things.

I generally need a longer amount of time in meditation to reach the "higher levels". Normally, I will feel an inflow of energy coming from below, and later an inflow coming from above. After this, I sometimes (but not always) enter ever greater levels of consciousness, culminating in a feeling of not-being-attached to my body, except that i can feel energy all over, as if i am swimming (floating?) in a raging (but gentle) storm of loving electricity or something. This is accompanied by a perception of an infinite space, and lots of bliss obviously. Actually, insane amounts of bliss.