Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 favorite yogic foods
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

des022

USA
24 Posts

Posted - Mar 05 2010 :  7:34:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I was wondering what are some your favorite yogic foods. Foods that you would say are staples in your diet, that you eat almost everyday. I am trying to eat lighter and healthier. I've been doing the AYP way for a couple of years now, and my diet really hasnt changed much and its really bad!! I basically live off of pizza and fast food, which I know is not good. I even drink beer on Saturday nights. I do have a really physical job and get a lot of exercise. I am pretty thin. People tell me I need to eat more. Only if they knew.

HathaTeacher

Sweden
382 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2010 :  3:39:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi des,
yoga food is mostly 'AVML' - Asian Vegetarian, often complemented by some yoghurt dressing or drink (Lassi). But if you do manual work then you can keep it richer in protein than otherwise (beans, lentils, peas, soy etc.) and in slow carbohydrates like oats. It shall contain a lot of fruits/nuts and vegetables (fresh or gently cooked), they have a 'first-row seat' in the Prana chain. Prana on Earth comes from the sun, so the first-line collectors of it are trees, plants and algae (I also use wild plants wherever available). Unsurprisingly, fast food is at the opposite end of the chain - so your intent to quit pizza sounds very reasonable.

Keetcheri is a base dish where ingredients and proportions can be varied a lot: basmati rice, vegetables, some virgin vegetable oil, and lentils, mung beans or chickpeas. Many yoga schools sell cook books, or even yoga-cooking weekend courses. Most Indian restaurants also offer several good 'AVML' dishes.

Needless to say, the need for protein also depends on how consistent a man's brahmacharya is.