Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Weird experience last night
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ImseVimse

USA
13 Posts

Posted - Dec 02 2009 :  11:59:29 AM  Show Profile  Visit ImseVimse's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Can anyone shed some light on this? (sorry this post is so long)

I have been practicing yoga for several years, and I've trained in ashtanga, but I'm not particularly "advanced." I don't have time to practice asanas or pranayama regularly, and meditation is nearly impossible because I never have quiet time to myself. I do try to be mindful though.

My higher chakras have always been more active than the lower ones. I have some issues like fatigue, food allergies and low sex drive, so I've been trying to focus on the mooladhara and svadhistana, just to see if it'd help. Usually I just try to visualize them while I'm lying in bed at night. I used to feel them spinning frequently, but lately they have been hard to focus on. When I can focus on them, there is no spinning--just a warm glowing sensation.

Anyway, last night when I was working on that, my mind kept wandering. I was thinking of a recent falling out with a friend and feeling sad that my friend lacks self-awareness; I was also thinking of a neighbor who died very young (though he had a very full life) and feeling sad for his siblings who have to grow old without him. I thought of something nice to write to his parents.

Very suddenly, all the sad feelings resolved into a heavy feeling in my chest. And I'm not speaking figuratively. It was a physical sensation, like a black fog inside me pushing me down in to the mattress. The fog condensed into a black ball and started to move up my body. It felt so weird. I was pinned to the mattress and my head was throbbing, but I knew it wasn't caused by my physical body. It was some force was trying to leave my body through the top of my head!