Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Mantra Substitution in DM
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

newtoayp

USA
8 Posts

Posted - Jul 30 2009 :  4:14:19 PM  Show Profile  Visit newtoayp's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Namaste to All,

I am a newbie to AYP and apologies if this question was already touched upon. I ask here as a search didn't seem to find a similar one :)

My primary practice is kriya yoga of guru lahiri and I plan to stick to that for now. However it is DM that really interests me. In my kriya lineage, we are also initiated into a mantra, of baalaa and asked to recite that. I normally use a mala and recite the mantra mentally. This seems similar to DM, there are differences:

1. I use a rosary to count and keep track - Is this a distraction in terms of the philosophy of DM? I see this as the initial stages of anapanasati where ganana or counting is used but eventually dropped after mind is sufficiently quietened. I am not stating that DM and anapanasati are same but would really like to know how my rosary counting relates to DM. That apart, I don't focus on anything except recite the mantra mentally.

2. More importantly, as I have invested several months of this mantra, would it be ok to use DM after replacing the mantra? In other words, does anyone practice DM with their own or other well-known bija and tantric mantras instead of yogani's formation?

sarve janaa sukhino bhavantu

Edited by - newtoayp on Jul 30 2009 8:49:59 PM

yogani

USA
5201 Posts

Posted - Jul 30 2009 :  10:28:35 PM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome Newtoayp!

Thank you for writing and sharing. Happy to hear you are finding the AYP writings informative.