AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 increased senses and attention
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kaserdar

91 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2009 :  11:41:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,

I'm new to practicing meditation and noticed that during meditation i hear noises which i normally don't hear like a person walking on the street, a bird singing etc. Theses noises normally are not hearable in the place i practice.
So considering meditation is increasing the senses its making my sense of hearing stronger. I take it normal. But i feel like this is something bad and taking my attention away from my mantra or breathing whatever i concentrate on.
So i was wondering whats the way to do it. Should i be alert and witness everything i feel, sense and think while focusing on my mantra? Or i fully focus on mantra and forget the rest of the things?

Thank you for your help in advance

Ananda

3115 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2009 :  11:56:43 AM  Show Profile  Visit Ananda's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
hello kaserdar and welcome to the forums, the same case scenario has been happening here for a long time especially during my afternoon sessions.

at first i delayed my session to a later time in the evening but that wasn't such a good idea bcz sleep got disturbed.

so i got back to my usual session and really it's all good the meditation is pretty deep you may say.

guess the best advise i could give is just focus on the mantra and let everything pass as it is don't give it too much credit and when you notice you're off the mantra than simply just go back to it.

nothing more nothing less just a plain simple game.

light and love,

Ananda

Go to Top of Page

CarsonZi

Canada
3189 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2009 :  12:03:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit CarsonZi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply