AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Visualisation( or Image) v Vibration - I AM
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Akasha

421 Posts

Posted - Apr 25 2009 :  09:34:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Can one do DM by gently imagining"I AM" (like an image of ,as such) receding in the distance?

I get the feeling one then inhabits a state where one is in consciousness(without the trappings of mind), if that makes any sense?( and sensory withdrawal,inward focus or pratyahara is attained easier, also then loss of ego and sense of I may then come easier asa result too while in that state )

I am completely new to all of this,and understand it's the vibratory quality of I AM one must focus on.

I most enjoy SBP and appreciate the enrgetic effects(& the possibilities of overload which i have probably experienced with asana before)buT really wish to nail DM, so to speak, as this is the preparatory foundation step- Lesson 1., the first step in purifiying and opening the nervous system.

I think it's becuase i find this way easier,and did it the first few times this way,but i misunderstood it wwas the vibration one focused on, not the symbol.Perhaps i am not used to vocalising mantras's with my mind's eye or consiousness.

I guess it will come with practice,and in time.. I should just be patient , as i've only been doing this about a week.BUt AYP really has openend up a new hidden dimension in my yoga practices. And i'm grateful for Yogani and the site for this, like us all here.

Folk hunt years to get this kind of stuff,and only by knowing a teacher intimately.

I know the vibration is probably better ,but i need to practice more.I think it is the idea of feeling the mantra,it's vibration, without vocalising it lat least physically, that perhaps i need to work on.