Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 How to fuel faith?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Sheila

USA
17 Posts

Posted - Jan 01 2009 :  4:41:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am a beginner at AYP having stumbled upon this website sometime last year. In the context of the spiritual faith and emotion evident in these forums, I am almost embarrassed to pose this question on the AYP website, but david_obsidian strongly suggested I do so.

My question is: How to fuel faith? I am one of those who do not have spontaneous or inherent faith/ bhakti (and truly envy those who do). In addition, I am almost hardwired with a self centered belief system, which means I feel life’s downturns personally and intensely. The solution seems clear – develop a broader belief system i.e. FAITH, to expand perspective and life will be far more palatable. Therefore, I have a strong yearning to develop faith - but how does one develop genuine faith simply because one wants to? Especially, with a mindset that is analytical and not overly sensitive. Simply put, can I “reason” my way into faith - and if so, how? Books like Yogananda's autobiography are very inspiring, but stretch credibility somewhat and philosophies such as Ramana Maharishi’s neti-neti are very difficult for me to understand.

BTW, if relevant, I have been following a routine of 10mins SBP, 20 mins DM, and 5 mins Samyama for a few months (twice daily as often as I can). The lack of faith is not a problem; I follow this routine based on a general conviction that like exercise, this will help with general well being. And, it has, somewhat. Yet, without faith, it seems like an essential ingredient is missing.

Thank you for listening.

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Jan 01 2009 :  5:40:02 PM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply