Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Trachea sutra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Arim

USA
27 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2008 :  4:28:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I've been reading, digesting and slowly adding stillness.

I recently read the samyama book. In it, yogani mentions using the word "trachea" to subdue eating and drinking. As a nurse, I'm wondering why not use the word "esophagus" instead of "trachea". As the esophagus in the tube in which the food and drink go down to get to the stomach. The trachea is the tube for breathing, leading to the lungs. Yogani, I tried to email you about this but I guess I have to start posting first, so here it is.

Also, is this sutra meant to be used only for fasting? Or can it also be used for dieting, getting appetite under control?

Peace

Arim

yogani

USA
5201 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2008 :  5:52:44 PM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Arim, and welcome!

The sutra "Trachea," alleged to be for subduing hunger and thrist, is in the appendix of the Samyama book, which is an interpretation of the 30 or so sutras in the 3rd chapter of Patanjali's Yoga Sutras on "Supernormal Powers." These are offered in the appendix for "research" by established practitioners.