Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Can't stop focussing on breath
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

surrealist

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Jul 04 2008 :  7:03:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit surrealist's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone!

I've been doing AYP on and off for a few years now. Over the past few months I've been much better about sticking with the twice-daily schedule, though my full-time job makes it difficult sometimes. I've lurked on the forum for a while, which I've found interesting and educational, but this is my first post.

Anyway, my problem is this: during meditation, I can't seem to stop focussing on my breath. This comprises a few issues:

• If I don't give some attention to the breath I often actually stop breathing.

• The mantra and the breath tend to line up, so the most comfortable way to meditate is to begin the mantra as I'm breathing out. Trying to let go of this pattern causes me to keep checking on myself (is my breath and mantra properly out of alignment?), which is of course not staying with the mantra.

• Sometimes the breath just seems so "loud" in my mind that I can't seem to get away from it.

I've kept with it hoping this would resolve itself on its own, but it's been a couple years now and I keep thinking I must be doing it wrong

Any advice would be most welcome!

Thanks!

tadeas

Czech Republic
314 Posts

Posted - Jul 04 2008 :  8:05:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Relax! :)

If the mantra is syncing with the breath, it's ok. Just let it be. Don't force it either way. Who cares?

If you stop breathing, it's ok - when the car stops, it needs no gas :))
As soon as you notice you've stopped breathing - back to mantra :)