AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Pressure in face/throat when in the present moment
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jellyfish

12 Posts

Posted - Apr 20 2008 :  12:38:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit jellyfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, This is my first post so I hop it is in the right place.

My problem is that I get this feeling of pressure in my face and neck when I am in the present moment. If I am idly thinking about something it does not occur and it goes away if I stop trying to be present. It is quite annoying because I want to practice mindfulness. It also seems to be connected to sore throats I am getting. It occured before I started practicing deep meditation (I started in january although I was practicing various other meditations for about a year) although it has got worse with this practice.

What is this pressure I feel when I try to be in the moment? Is it because I am trying to hard? Is it a cathartic release? Is it some kind of feedback loop of stress? Is it just where I store my tress to be released when I become present? It seems to be connected to my emotions in some way because it also occurs sometimes when i feel stress, anger or irritation.

Any ideas as to what this is would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Edited by - jellyfish on Apr 20 2008 12:40:28 PM

Christi

United Kingdom
4429 Posts

Posted - Apr 20 2008 :  1:13:20 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Jellyfish and welcome to the forum.