AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 newbie questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

xarismax

5 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2008 :  3:09:20 PM  Show Profile  Visit xarismax's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Greetings everyone, i am new to yoga, and i will like to ask the following questions :

1) When i meditate i dont know where i should focus my mind.
Should i focus on my breath , on the mantra , or try to not focus at all ?

2) When i meditate on morning i always fail (i feel like i am not even meditating) should i meditate with an empty stomach ? or after i eat ?
i also noticed that i have better performance on the whole day if i dont meditate at morning , but replace morning meditation with listening to music (which is a guided meditation music).

so should i do normal meditation at morning ? and if yes , how will i make it successful ?

riptiz

United Kingdom
741 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2008 :  5:38:39 PM  Show Profile  Visit riptiz's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Xarismax,
Welcome.
1) You should gently focus on the mantra but not to the point that you force it to remain in your mind.One gently repeats the mantra and when you realise that you have stopped repeating it, you gently return to the mantra again.Nothing forced.
2) You should meditate on an empty stomach as the energy flows through an empty vessel easier much like an empty pipe.
Yes, you should meditate in the morning if possible but if one needs to get up so early that they fall to sleep and not meditate then it is counter productive and one should wait a little longer.
L&L
Dave
Go to Top of Page

yogibear

409 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2008 :  7:16:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi xarismax,

Welcome to the forum.

In addition to Dave's advice, you can have a glass of water and a shower before your morning meditation and see if that helps.