Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Mantra Clarification
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

YogaPat

Canada
12 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2008 :  3:11:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit YogaPat's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone

This is my first post.I have been practicing AYP since august 2006.

I would like to know if the mantra should be heard of felt? Until now when meditating I have been hearing the mantra which for me localizes it in my head or third eye region. In one of Yoganis recent posts he says to feel the mantra. If my intention is to feel the mantra when picking it up my attention goes to my body/chest. What is the best way of picking the mantra up?

Thanks Yogani and everyone for all of the great sharing!

Patrick

Edited by - YogaPat on Jan 14 2008 3:25:36 PM

YogaPat

Canada
12 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2008 :  6:11:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit YogaPat's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I quickly reviewed Yoganis "Deep Meditation" book and realized the mantra is a sound thought not a feeling. I Guess I was trying to complicate things. Anyway clarification on this point would be great.

Thanks, P
Go to Top of Page

yogani

USA
5201 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2008 :  7:03:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi YogaPat, and welcome!

You took the words right out of my mouth.

Yes, the mantra is a thought, the thought of a sound, refining naturally again and again to faint fuzziness and inner silence.

Along the way, the mantra can be experienced in many ways -- visual, auditory, physical feeling, even smell or taste, according to purification and opening that is occurring. But we always easily come back to it as the thought of a sound at a level of clarity or faintness that is comfortable at whatever level we happen to be at the moment in the mind.

All the best!

The guru is in you.