AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 New to AYP & More on AYP & Vipassana
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lee

2 Posts

Posted - Dec 30 2007 :  11:34:32 PM  Show Profile  Visit lee's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,

I am brand new to AYP (4 weeks). I discovered Vipassana practice about 9 months ago and have practiced quite diligently. I've been on 3 retreats so far the last being for 2 weeks and taking me nearly to the brink of first enlightenment. However, feeling a block I could not break through, I've started looking at other things to see what gaps I might have in my practice. The most promising set of practices I have encountered have been AYP as presented here. And so many of the symptoms of purification match perfectly to the experiences I have had doing intensive Vipassana practice on retreat. However the AYP informatoin is much clearer, more specific and more detailed than the typical Theravada Buddhist maps.

I know that the repeated advice here is not to mix practices. Just pick a spot and keep digging is what I see again and again, however I do wonder if there could be some synergy between Vipassana and AYP. For me, I find the 2 practices complement each other. Vipassana seems better suited to intensive retreat style practice where as Deep Meditation is better off retreat. After coming off my last retreat, I've been disappointed that my vipassana practice can't seem to come anywhere near the depth of my practice while on retreat. However deep meditation with a mantra seems to get me much closer to retreat level depth without having to spend half a day of continuous practice to ramp up. However, sometimes, I do have more time and would like to do additional comtemplative practice. Since it is not advised to do extra AYP meditation, I've been using breath/vipassana meditation when I want to keep going or do a bit extra.