New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

hopeless meditator

United Kingdom
38 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2007 :  10:24:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit hopeless meditator's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all,

I have been meditating almost daily now for about 4 years. However, I seem to have got trapped in what feels like an endless "dark Night of the Soul." I had hoped that perseverance would pay off and that a sense of equanimity would emerge. Unfortunately, it hasn't. If anything my general level of anxiety seems higher than ever. I feel I must be doing something wrong, and have prayed about this. I don't like to just give up. Can anyone advise me? I am considering giving up all spiritual practice, but this seems a drastic step to take. I would really appreciate some guidance, but I don't know where best to find it.

weaver

832 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2007 :  10:41:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello HM and welcome to the forum!

What type of meditation have you been practicing for about 4 years?
Go to Top of Page

hopeless meditator

United Kingdom
38 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2007 :  10:56:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit hopeless meditator's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Weaver,
Thank you. I started off just counting breaths (1 to 10, then back to 1 again). Then I began to use Kriya techniques taught to me by e-mail. I had some scary experiences (including feeling that I could fly), so I ceased all Kriyas! Since then I have been meditating on emptiness on the out breath, and not doing anything on the in breath. I believe this is Formless Meditation, and I found this technique on a Buddhist website.
Go to Top of Page

gumpi

United Kingdom
546 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2007 :  11:19:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit gumpi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply