AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 problems with meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

babaram

5 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2006 :  10:54:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit babaram's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have only been doing the "deep meditation" with "i am" for a few months now. However, I have been doing some type of meditation for many years. Most of the time I have done TM (for over 20 years) but have tried other types at different times. After all these years of meditation, I'm not sure that I have made any progress. I've seen enough glimpses to keep me going, but, looking back, I'm not sure that I've had any cumulative results. I don't really feel any more enlightened. I am not too sure I'm a better or more loving person. And I find that much of my time in meditation I am restless and uncomfortable or I fall asleep. I have to wonder if I even know how to meditate. It may seem foolish that I have continued, but I am familiar enough with spirituality to be convinced that meditation will provide what I seek. I realize this is rather general and vague, but...any suggestions.

Edited by - AYPforum on Jan 31 2007 08:18:20 AM

Anthem

1608 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2006 :  11:36:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Barbaram,

You seem to have a solid base of meditation why not add in some spinal breathing and eventually related mudras, this can really help accelerate your progress on the path. Start with five minutes of pranayama spinal breathing and monitor yourself for signs that you need to "self-pace". Eventually increase your time and add in related mudras that are outlined in the AYP Main Lessons link above.

Also are you meditating regularly? I have found great acceleration in my progress since I went to twice a day practices.

good luck,

A
Go to Top of Page

cosmic_troll

USA
229 Posts