Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Am I overdoing it?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TRVeda

India
4 Posts

Posted - Dec 30 2014 :  01:28:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been practising the SN Goenka Vipassana for a few years. I made it part of my daily routine about six months ago.
However, more recently I found that I'd like to try out other meditation techniques as well. Last week I was directed to the AYP site by a friend.

I've spent a couple of days doing the DM - 20 minutes in the morning, and 20 minutes in the evening. I sit in either padmasana or sukhasana.

Here is what I have observed: Thoughts arise and pass and sometimes I get distracted by them and follow them. However, the moment I pay attention to the I-AM mantra, I feel a flow of energy that starts from the top of my head and moves to the bottom of my core. This energy feels like a cross between pins and needles, a crawling sensation and a flow of particles. Between each mantra recitation, my heart chakra feels warm and raw.
After the meditation, I feel more composed, concentrated and have the ability to be more present in the moment. This lasts till the end of the day. No real 'negative' side effects to speak of. But then, it has been only 2 days since I started.

I wasn't expecting to have such a strong response so fast to the meditation.
Should I change what I'm doing? Reduce the amount of time I am with the mantra?
Or add a pranayam to it? Or should I not worry and keep going with the I-AM mantra for the next few months before adding/changing anything?

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1553 Posts

Posted - Dec 30 2014 :  01:35:09 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear TRVeda,

You are doing just fine. No need for worry.

Sey

Go to Top of Page

BlueRaincoat

United Kingdom
1731 Posts