Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Jalandhara, Swallowing, and Breath "Waves"
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tamasaburo

USA
136 Posts

Posted - Jul 04 2014 :  12:58:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I recently bought this book: http://www.amazon.com/Pranayama-Bre...ayama+breath

It is a very detailed treatment of all aspects of pranayama and seems quite good in general. Reading it made me realize there are a couple of things I still don't quite grasp about SBP, or which still feel "clunky," though I've been practicing for several years.

First of all, is there any specific technique to the actual motion of the breath in SBP? I think what I've read is that the breathing is basically full and natural, but with the addition of visualization of spinal nerve, ujjayi, bandhas, etc.

But what about the actual movement that powers the inhalation and exhalation? In this book, the author describes two different styles of "oceanic" breathing: one is a kind of wave that goes from bottom to top and down again (start inhaling by expanding lower abdomen, then middle of abdomen, then rib cage; exhale by contracting in reverse order), and the other is a wave which goes up both on inhalation and exhalation (inhale by first expanding lower abdomen, then middle of abdomen, then rib cage, but exhale by first contracting lower abdomen, then middle abdomen, then rib cage). The latter seems a bit tough to me, though I think it is the technique the author recommends for more experienced practitioners.