New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

dofa66

France
46 Posts

Posted - May 25 2014 :  12:55:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I have been doing DM 20 mn twice a day since 7 months. I have added 5 mn of SB few weeks ago. Although I admit that my mind is more quiet during the day and that I am way less emotive than I used to be, I am still far from experiencing the rise of the witness. Also, I do not experience the process of losing the mantra as described by Yogani : sometimes I am not focused on the mantra but I am still repeating it while focusing on other thoughts.
Maybe one could say that 7 months is not long enough... However, I decided some weeks ago to give a try to an alternative meditation method, which is paying attention to the body (a.k.a. body scan or body sweeping). I learnt this from a Barry Long's book (Meditation - A foundation course), and from Eckhart Tolle. You may understand it from these two videos :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u45pRlO16Mg
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foU1qgOdtwg

I tried this method twice a day during two weeks. During the meditation sessions, my mind became quiet deeper and faster than with AYP DM. Having thought about it, I believe that repeating a mantra forces the mind to be active, while paying attention to something (body or breath) puts the mind really at rest with no thoughts.