AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Vipassana retreat - advice for AYPer attending
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

inquirer

13 Posts

Posted - May 11 2014 :  10:39:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Friends,

I've been doing AYP for ~3 years and have mostly been on the ecstatic side of things. Automatic asanas, quick head turning and automatic kechari (now level 3) are some of the symptoms the arise during meditation. I'm currently using last mantra enhancement.

In parallel to doing AYP I've been reading about other traditions (Daniel Ingram, Kornfield, liberation unleashed etc.) and I've found appplying Vipassana (mindfulness and noting the 3 characteristics) very beneficial to my practice.

Let me give you an example of that. Always doing yoni mudra kumbhaka at the end of the practice resulted in a huge outburst of energy going to my head. The energy naturally went down pretty quickly normally and I wasn't able to sustain it. However, after reading up on Vipassana and switching to that state of observing (especially no-self and impermanence) I was able to sustain the energy and go further, whatever happened, by observing and not clinging to the experiences (it is also a great way to deal with fear that arises during new and intense AYP experiences).

In general I find vipassana to be a missing link in low level AYP practice description. It's a perfect method to achieve the approach that in AYP writings has been described somewhat broadly (too broadly to apply) as "don't attach to the scenery". There's also probably the most important thing - vipassana is something that helps a lot in a daily life, in any situation. AYP, aside from general changes in one's consciousness, won't help you directly in such a way.