AYP Home | Main Lessons | Tantra Lessons | AYP Plus | Retreats | AYP Books
Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Jnana Yoga/Self-Inquiry - Advaita (Non-Duality)
 What is awareness, witness, ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

DimWit

USA
4 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2014 :  7:34:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
<more naive questions might follow this as I am new to to this>

When talking about Jnana Yoga, what is awareness, witness, pure awareness, conscious awareness, unconscious awareness ? Are you talking about awareness of thoughts or awareness of world around you without alteration by thoughts.

thanks in advance for enlightening me in future...

Edited by - DimWit on Feb 10 2014 8:19:57 PM

tonightsthenight

846 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2014 :  11:31:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi dimwit

These are terms to describe things that are better experienced than explained.

In self inquiry practice one is able to gain understanding of what these terms represent. Self inquiry is a jnana yoga practice.

Awareness can refer to many things, but in this sense it refers to consciousness. Witness, pure awareness, etc, are different ways to say it.

I suggest experiencing awareness for yourself through mantra or breath meditation along with selfy inquiry meditation.
Go to Top of Page

DimWit

USA
4 Posts

Posted - Feb 11 2014 :  03:38:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks. But this is the vaguest answer and I think I expected this answer and should've mentioned in my OP that I am seeking something more tangible.

It's like a toddler can point out a tree in a picture but a 40 year old adult can't define a tree. (try it).