Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 Uddiyana bandha - energy rising up while holding?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

cartman

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - Jan 02 2014 :  5:04:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I've been following the lessons and can feel my energy moving easily (I've been doing yoga for 10+ years).

I've never really got the hang of uddiyana bandha though despite it occasionally occuring spontaneously. With mulabandha I feel energy rising when I engage it. But with uddiyana bandha I don't feel energy rising anywhere (even from mulabandha when I apply them both together). Perhaps I'm targetting it wrong. However, after I've finished it and I release it, then I do feel a lot of energy at my navel. Alternatively, if I inhale a small sip of air after applying uddiyana bandha, it seems to open everything up inside and I do feel energy rising from mulahadhara up through the navel and higher into my body.

As I understand it, in uddiyana bandha the navel should come close to the spine to stimulate manipura. The external breath retention with sucking the diaphragm up is to help draw the navel to the spine. The fact that uddiyana means "flying up" refers to energy, not the movement of the navel. Is that correct?