Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Initiation and Kriya
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

martydee

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Sep 27 2013 :  2:37:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello All,

I'm happy to have found this site.

I'm brand new to meditation. And brand new to this site as well. I've been looking around for the best method and stumbled across Kriya yoga. But I keep reading that one must be initiated into it in order for it to work its wonders. Is this true? And if it is, is it also necessary to be initiated into the Deep Meditation method as well? There do appear to be some similarities.

Thanks,
Marty

Will Power

Spain
415 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2013 :  04:23:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear martydee,

I'd say that there are 3 or 4 options:

1) Get initiated into Kriya Yoga and practise what you are told to. If you do so, avoid organizations, since they have altered greatly the Kriya Yoga techniques (and some techniques aren't taught at all) and the initiations are massive. It is said that in one-to-one Initiations you get guru's energy transfered. Some don't feel it, but they keep practising and succeed. In USA you can get a one-to-one initiation by Ashok Kumar Singh. He keeps contact after the initiation by email and trace your spiritual growth.
http://www.vedickriyayoga.com/
A user of this forum described the state of Consciousness that she experience through following his teachings.

You will have to pay for your travel to visit the Guru or for a Guru's travel, and then a donation (nobody will tell you a fixed quantity, but to give what you can to help Guru with his expenses)