Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Suggestion?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jeanine

USA
14 Posts

Posted - Sep 20 2013 :  11:58:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi Folks,

I was wondering if anyone might have a suggestion. I've been doing deep meditation for seven months now and have added pranayama and samyama as Yogani suggests. I would say I'm past the clunky stage and experiencing wonderful effects in daily life.

However, I came into meditation with an anxiety disorder, and while the practices are helping tremendously, I do still encounter anxiety states at times. My question is this: I would like to do a calming practice when I'm feeling anxious. Since deep meditation brings so much peace, my instinct is to want to do it when I'm feeling anxious, but I don't want to deviate from the twice daily routine by adding it as a "go to" when I'm anxious. So my question is, what practice is ok to do "as needed" for relaxing? Thank you.

Pheel

China
318 Posts

Posted - Sep 21 2013 :  12:56:06 AM  Show Profile  Visit Pheel's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Jeanine,

Glad to hear that DM and other practices are making it better. Here's a lesson that you might find helpful to read:http://aypsite.org/259.html
As your DM progress, you'll gradually be able to be with your anxiety, observe it until it recedes. If you still can't, then some alternative nostril breathing might bring some relief...that's my two cents.

Phil
Go to Top of Page

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Sep 21 2013 :  08:58:38 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Jeanine,
The lesson Pheel pointed you to covers, very nicely, what I was going to suggest to you.