Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Will it stop me from engaging in competitions?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

fs822

China
4 Posts

Posted - Aug 29 2013 :  11:05:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Will the pursuit of inner peace stop me from engaging in competitions and achieving?

Hello everyone:
I'm a high school student from China, about to take the most important exam in my life. My classmates are really working hard, they exert a lot of willpower and work day and night trying to outcompete others, say: my dorm mate studies Mathematics for 12 hours a day, really crazy!
I have practiced meditation for a period of time and had glimpses of inner peace, which is a really nice feeling. But when I exert willpower to do things I don¡¯t enjoy doing, e.g. Math, I feel my inner peace greatly disturbed. So restless do I feel that I find myself suffering. So I stop what I am doing and meditate, telling myself competing causes suffering, and that it¡¯s better to ¡°do nothing¡± (quote from Lao Tzu).

However, I do need to compete with others, I do need to go through all the misery to be an achiever. They tell me taking the pain is the first step to achieving, but when I take the pain, I don¡¯t feel inner peace any more. It seems that the pursuit of ¡°inner peace¡± has become a sanctuary for me where I forgive myself for being lazy and procrastinating. I'm not as intrepid as before.

Will meditation deprive me of the power to compete?

PS. I sometimes view competition as an illusion of separation, unconscious¡­ etc.
You know what I mean I¡¯m a new comer here and thank you all for your help!

Edited by - fs822 on Aug 29 2013 11:14:00 PM

ak33

Canada
229 Posts