Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 New here - hello and a couple of questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

MelodyM

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - Jun 21 2013 :  5:30:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everybody, I am new to DM having recently discovered Yogani's wonderful book and have begun on my journey of daily meditation practice.

One of the reasons I searched and found this wonderful book is that I was looking for something to help with stress in my life, and something to help me feel more at peace in myself. Already I feel some small benefits, and I know it is only early days but I look forward to discovering more.

I wonder if you could help me with a question I have - I am learning how to not fight it when thoughts come up during meditation, how to allow them without struggle against them, and when I notice I am not on the mantra, to return to the mantra easily (sometimes it is easier than others, so when it is not easy, I do not struggle, but return again when it is easy again).

A few times now in my daily life outside of meditation, I have found myself thinking distressing or irritable thoughts and automatically found a part of myself naturally stopping - noticing what I am doing - and then, internally, saying the mantra. It has happened almost subconsciously. My question is - is this ok? And is it actually something I should encourage? I don't mean that I plan to go into DM every time I have a troubling thought I want to release, but is this even possibly a benefit showing up in my life from my practice of DM? That I am able to notice and stop troubling thoughts before they can 'take hold' and cause a spiral of stress?

My other question is about whether, at this early stage, I should read the Pranayama book and add that into my daily practice - or if I should wait a while?

I very much appreciate your thoughts and suggestions, thank you

Shanti