Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Mantra vs anapanasati practice
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Filipo1

Switzerland
21 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2013 :  10:07:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

As Deep Meditation seems so close to TM which I have been practicing for more than a year now and as I did not encounter equivalent forums for TMers, please allow me to come to you to try to clarify some doubts I have about my practice.

Recently I am feeling quite often uncomfortable with the mantra practice.
Before TM I had been practicing buddhist meditation for a few years, more specifically within the Zen tradition (Soto and Rinzai).

My main problems with TM experience as opposed to zazen, is the fact that my mind is either overflowed by endless thoughts chains or when theses thoughts chains are off I feel that the mantra repetition is like artificial and a hindrance to allow myself to absorb in the present moment. My teacher made it clear that I should not necessarily force myself to repeat the mantra voluntarilly as it could get more and more subtle and eventually completely disappear.
So far for me disappearance of the mantra was either due to distracting thoughts arising or state of mental dullness.
And it does not seem to improve over time which leaves me perplex on possible mistake in my practice.

Any suggestions please?

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2013 :  10:10:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

Christi

United Kingdom
4429 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2013 :  5:56:26 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Filipo,

I am not familiar with TM practice so I cannot comment on that, but I am familiar with AYP mantra meditation, so I can offer some advice based on what I do know.