Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Witness?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ak33

Canada
229 Posts

Posted - Mar 16 2013 :  7:07:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey guys, I have been doing DM for about 2 months. Recently, any activity I do, whether its something I like or don't like, I am beginning to experience it sort of indifferently. As if I'm watching myself going through life (sort of like a dream). However, there is no real joy associated with this indifference, sort of just silence. I'm not sure if this is the witness. Any thoughts?

Christi

United Kingdom
4430 Posts

Posted - Mar 17 2013 :  06:13:17 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi ak33,

Yes, this is the witness- where you are able to notice that you are the one who is aware of action happening, rather than identifying yourself as the doer of the action itself. Being in the witness is not necessarily joyful, or blissful. It is a transition stage towards enlightenment.

Gradually, as you identify less with the stuff of consciousness you will become more relaxed, experience more peace, more joy and more freedom. This will happen both during meditation and during your everyday life. Over time the silence and the peace will expand into bliss. It is an ongoing development which takes months or years.

Even the cultivation of the witness and the deepening into a state of bliss is not the end of the journey, but it is an important stage to cultivate and become established in.