Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Can nadi shodana be an alternitive to SBP?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

robfrommi

USA
34 Posts

Posted - Jan 27 2013 :  5:30:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I had a question about spinal breathing pranayama and nadi shodana. I have been doing deep meditation for almost 5 months and in this time I have tried SBP several times and after a few days to a week my energy gets out of control and I crash and burn. I have tried different amount of time 10 min, 5 mins ,2 min and 1 min with the same result.
I have concluded that this time in my life I am not suppose to be doing SBP and been thinking of waiting a year before attempting again. I was wondering if I could do some light nadi shodana for a while to kinda prep my system for SBP or should i give up on this dream to do some form of pranayama for a while. (I actually did have a dream about it last night!)

Christi

United Kingdom
4430 Posts

Posted - Jan 27 2013 :  6:45:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Robfrommi,

Yes, Alternate nostril breathing can be used as an alternative to SBP if you are getting too strong a reaction to SBP. Just be aware that it is a much less powerful practice than SBP, so once enough purification has occured to allow you to practice SBP again, be ready to switch back. It might not take as long as you think.

Christi
Go to Top of Page

robfrommi

USA
34 Posts

Posted - Jan 28 2013 :  09:25:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks for the reply, I tried Yesterday and this morning with no side effects.
Go to Top of Page

Christi

United Kingdom
4430 Posts