Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 focus on sensation or visualization ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

DAPA

Sweden
30 Posts

Posted - Oct 02 2012 :  9:32:02 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been doing pranayama now before dm for a few months, there is a reoccurring issue for me that I would very much appreciate to get some comments on.

If i stop trying to visualize the spinal nerve, I can more distinctly feel the warm pleasent sensation in my spine as I go up and down, when I try to visualize I somewhat loose track of this sensation and it all becomes a bit more strained and difficult. Should I go with the sensation or is the visualization important ? I have a little bit of trouble imagining the channel to be tiny as instructed and I often spend attention thinking of whether I am doing it correctly or not,.

Thank you very much for reading this post,

Greetings from Sweden

woosa

United Kingdom
382 Posts

Posted - Oct 02 2012 :  9:45:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi DAPA and welcome!

Well, I would go with what is easiest for you.

In this case I would try feeling the sensation going up and down your spine, rather than visualizing. As you have said, visualizing causes you to lose track and causes difficulty. You don't want that!

I've never visualized during spinal breathing - just felt the sensation - and I know it's working.

It's good to have you here. All the best!
Go to Top of Page

DAPA

Sweden
30 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2012 :  10:41:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Originally posted by woosa

Hi DAPA and welcome!

Well, I would go with what is easiest for you.

In this case I would try feeling the sensation going up and down your spine, rather than visualizing. As you have said, visualizing causes you to lose track and causes difficulty. You don't want that!