Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Hoping someone can help with this one.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wisya

United Kingdom
27 Posts

Posted - Sep 22 2012 :  02:26:28 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi folks. It's been a while since I posted on the group but you people are maybe the only ones that can give me a solution to a major problem that I have developed.

I've been meditating now twice a day for almost 2 years. I did start with mantra meditation and the ayp practices but just couldn't get on with it. I even eventually went down the buddhist practice route and currently have an effective vipassana daily practice going.

The problem I have started a few weeks ago during shamata breath awareness at the nose tip. It started like a feeling of someone pulling and stretching my nose. It didn't hurt but was distracting to say the least. As the weeks went on it has become much worse. It now involves my whole face. Sometimes it's like having my face sucked, other times it feels like my teeth are being pulled out. Now it goes with a feeling of pressure inside my head.

None of this really hurts but it is truly messing up my meditation. The feeling has now become so strong, I don't even need to be meditating. If I bring attention to my face I can bring it on in seconds. It is very odd.

I can no longer use my nostrils as an object of meditation. Now I've switched to the abdomen which is a lot better but these face and head feelings are always in the background ready to pop up.

There has to be someone here who can help. I asked a Tibet lama and he said it was sprites messing with me. Take that as you want...

Thanks

Christi

United Kingdom
4429 Posts

Posted - Sep 22 2012 :  04:43:18 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Wisya,

Yes, moving your attention to the abdomen and being aware of the breath there is the right move.