Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Spinal Breathing - Health Benefits: Specific Quest
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

OneLeaf

USA
23 Posts

Posted - Aug 24 2012 :  6:54:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been doing DM and AYP for the past several months with a lot of ups and downs but overall have loved what it's given me but I actually went into it hoping to get some very specific benefits, one being help with chronic sinusitis.

For a bit of background, I've been told by my TCM (traditional chinese medicine) doctor that I have a yin deficiency and some native weaknesses in my stomach and lung channels that are all contributing to my chronic sinusitis which leads primarily to me just being congested all the time.

My question is, would spinal breathing done effectively help to alleviate or even possibly cure this condition? How long might it take? The herbs he gives me definitely helps a lot but I would love to be able to stop taking the herbs and fix this very nettlesome and sometimes debilitating problem with meditation.

Yogani, if you're out there any input on this or any other suggestions?

Thanks so much!

AumNaturel

Canada
687 Posts

Posted - Aug 25 2012 :  5:57:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
edit: Just looked into your condition and I don't think it is what I have had at all. Is jala neti (nasal wash) at all recommended? Best of luck with it.

I've found meditation alone directly clears my sinuses and always keeps them clear afterwards, while certain multi-vitamins and minerals taken over a few weeks causes a recurrence of it even if meditating. I have not been able to tell the effect of spinal breathing alone, but the combination of it and deep meditation works at least as well as silent meditation in my case.

Edited by - AumNaturel on Aug 25 2012 6:03:06 PM
Go to Top of Page

Holy

796 Posts