Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Grounding vs self-pacing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ddaniel

USA
15 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2012 :  12:16:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone!

This is my first topic on AYP, so I want to start out by giving a huge THANK YOU to everyone who participates on this forum. I haven't had to post much, because anything I could think to ask so far has already been brought up and thoroughly answered (the search function is a great thing!)

I'm a 25 year old male living in the USA, and AYP is my first consistent meditation practice. I have been doing DM / Spinal breathing twice daily for about the past 5 months (less consistently for about 5 months before that). I won't bore you too much with my background story, but I had a question I was hoping ya'll could help me with.

Since starting AYP, and particularly spinal breathing (and a little bit of samyama), I have been having a much greater desire to exercise than I have had in the past. My cardiovascular health has been improving (a definite plus!), but i've noticed that when I don't exercise for a few days, I get the symptoms of overload spoken of in the teachings.

My question is this: Is grounding an acceptable substitute for self-pacing?

I feel like I have been making good progress with my practices, but without the daily rigorous exercise, I feel I would be overloading. In other words, I feel as though my bhakti is pushing me forward, but I have been needing serious grounding to keep up with the progress. Is there any danger of this strategy of 'everything in excess'?

I hope that makes sense. This community is truly beautiful, and I can't express how much I appreciate all of you.

Lots of love,
Dave

Edited by - ddaniel on Apr 28 2012 12:19:03 AM

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2012 :  05:36:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply