Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Deep Meditation Technique Questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TallTaff

United Kingdom
5 Posts

Posted - Apr 19 2012 :  12:20:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,

This is my first post.

I've been practicing Deep Meditation for about 2 months now, twice a day.

I have definitely noticed some positive signs, but I'd like to clear up a couple of questions in regard to the technique itself as I often find myself doubting that I am doing it correctly.

Firstly, should I be returning my focus to the mantra when I notice I'm thinking/day dreaming or when I notice I've stopped repeating the mantra?

I ask this as I find I can go for long periods of time where I can repeat the mantra, but I feel as if I'm day dreaming. I never lose the mantra, but I am also lost in thought.

On other occasions I have tried to return my focus completely to the mantra every time I notice I have been day dreaming (the mantra continues the whole time, but I place my focus on it), but this often leads to a very intense pressure at my temples and I'm worried that I'm straining.

My second question is whether I should be actively trying to let go?
During my most intense meditation experience so far(rushing feelings, pleasure etc), before the sensations started, I had begun to wilfully let go (if that makes sense?). I was allowing my mind to wander completely and I could kind of watch images and thoughts.

Since then I guess I've been trying to recreate this sensation by trying to let go again, but I've not had the same experience since.
I'm now worried that I'm trying to add too much control to the meditation and possibly hindering myself in the progress.

Thanks in advance.

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Apr 19 2012 :  12:56:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome to the forum Taltaff.