Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 "scenery" and significance?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mukundaspupil

United Kingdom
25 Posts

Posted - Mar 30 2012 :  8:01:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello Yogis,

I'm quite new to practice, so not very advanced at all, I have a question about the significance of "scenery". I know it's not supposed to be focused on, and I didn't I'm analysing it afterwards :-D when it happens I just go back to the mantra. Anyway, I've had a few "visions" or images I suppose, random things that occured without me thinking about them, during deep meditation and I wonder if any of you more experienced yogis know if they have any significance. One was a tiger, lying in front of me, about 3 metres away. I wasn't scared and it was being aggressive, just lying there looking at me. Another was birds flying in the air and then another where all these flashing images of mens faces, one after another, some vaguely familar others not at all, it was a bit unsettling really. If anyone knows what this is, or has had similar exeriences I'd love to hear :-)

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Mar 31 2012 :  04:34:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Attach no significance. We all get it at one time or another, it's purification happening. Some have much stronger scenery. Something good is happening.
Go to Top of Page

Etherfish

USA
3615 Posts

Posted - Mar 31 2012 :  07:37:32 AM  Show Profile  Visit Etherfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
It's quite possible that those images do have significance - to the mind that was shut down at the time. But chasing those images could be counter-productive because it shows your mind what it needs to do to catch you like a fish and reel you in.
Go to Top of Page

mukundaspupil

United Kingdom
25 Posts