Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 psychosis
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

seemas

United Kingdom
6 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2012 :  3:26:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am new to AYP and have been practicing the I AM meditation twice a day for a week.

Can some one tell me if it is safe for me. I had a traumatic childhood and became homeless at 15 when I had what I realise now to be a spontanious awakening which lasted for a few days. The experience never repeated itself and I went through my life thinking maybe I imagined it as I did not know what it was.

Between 1998 and 2000 I had two psychotic episodes which consisted of hearing voices and paranoid delusions. I was diagnosed schizophrenic in 2000. I am now 46 years old and have not had any episodes since 2000. I read about spiritual awakening on the internet 2 weeks ago and this is when I realised what happened to me when I was 15 years old. My psychlogist has discharged me saying that I am to self aware to get ill again and that I should be able to manage my illness.

Could any one tell me if there are any dangers as I am intending to take it really slow

On my last meditation I felt a cooling feeling almost like water at the top of my head and I am feeling pressure on my forehead

Edited by - seemas on Mar 06 2012 5:16:33 PM

CarsonZi

Canada
3189 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2012 :  10:56:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit CarsonZi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Seemas and welcome to the AYP forums,

AYP DM is safe for everyone as long as it is practiced while keeping the caveat of self pacing in mind: http://www.aypsite.org/38.html