Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 how to speak the mantra in meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

MyEmptiness

Germany
3 Posts

Posted - Feb 19 2012 :  03:31:39 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
hello to everybody :)

i am new to the advanced yoga practices and this forum. i read yogani's article about deep meditation and the mantra " I AM".

I am wondering how to say the mantra silently.

Do you inhale and say the whole mantra or do you exhale and say the whole mantra. The last option would be to inhale and say "I" and to exhale and say "AM".

Regards.

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Feb 19 2012 :  05:48:09 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Myemptiness and a warm welcome to the forums.

There is no requirement to synchronise the mantra to the breath. Also there is no need to break it down into separate syllables.

Just breath normally and gently put your awareness on the mantra. Repeat it as AYAM with no emphasis or meaning.

Sometimes it will be slow, sometimes fast, sometimes it will synchronise with the breath.
Just repeat it in you mind without any emphasis on any particular way of saying it.

Edited by - karl on Feb 19 2012 05:49:49 AM
Go to Top of Page

makingthesaint

USA
2 Posts

Posted - Feb 19 2012 :  08:27:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit makingthesaint's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
hello,
karl nailed it. i'm only responding because i had this exact conversation with a friend a month ago. he, too, was struggling connecting iam with the breath.

as to your first question, when you read these posts, you "say" the words in your mind.
otherwise you use your mouth to say the words out loud.