New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

gatito

United Kingdom
179 Posts

Posted - Nov 10 2011 :  8:49:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'd realised the need to re-establish a practice in my life and signed up to a month-long Jhana retreat just before stumbling across AYP.

Can anyone shed any light on jhana and nirvikalpa samadhi please?

Specifically the relationship between them - if any?

Also how do these concepts relate to what's being taught here?

BTW, as a newbie, I can't find a search facility on this board. Am I blind?

Thanks in anticipation.

chit-ananda51

India
127 Posts

Posted - Nov 10 2011 :  10:10:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I can only shed light on where you can find the 'Search box' - it is at the top just next to FORUM FAQ.

As for Jhana and Nirvikalpa Samadhi... some other members will pitch in.
Go to Top of Page

gatito

United Kingdom
179 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2011 :  5:05:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you for restoring my sight
Go to Top of Page

chit-ananda51

India
127 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2011 :  10:56:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Gatito,

Nirvikalpa samadhi/Jhana , in Indian context refers to 'undifferentiated consciousness' (Nir - no ; kalpa - difference) - sort of non-dual awareness; state of pure radiant being.

Buddhists refer to IT as spontaneous naked awareness or luminous emptiness - though words stop before THAT.

AYP'ers are used to the term pure bliss consciousness. (Search for Inner silence within the forum on cultivating IT daily..).

Go to Top of Page

Vayu

USA
40 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2011 :  11:06:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Sometimes, I too wonder if the end states of Yoga and Buddhism are the same? For example, is Kaivalya the same as Nirvana?
Go to Top of Page

gatito