Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Personal Experience of Pranayama
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

thezuck

USA
24 Posts

Posted - Oct 07 2011 :  7:55:44 PM  Show Profile  Visit thezuck's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all. Truly blessed to have access to such an evolving and inspiring community of wisdom and exploration..... many thanks.

I just wanted to get some feedback on my ever-evolving experience with pranayama. I have been doing doing AYP Practices since March (so about 7 months). Added Pranayama to DM after about 6 weeks. Then samyama a few weeks after that. I have experienced pretty consistent results (peace, self-confidence, awareness, clarity) since starting my practice. When my routine was solely meditation, the results were very intense. After starting pranayama, the results were definitely evolving and growing, but seemed to smooth out in intensity.

On the few occasions where I have only had the time to do meditation, the results typically have "appeared" to be more powerful, both in the session and afterwards in my day. Im concerned that the breathing exercises focus my mind on my body and breath a bit too much. Is that possible? Im worried that I strain and try to control my breath rate and volume...and it takes away from my concentration and depth of focus in meditation.

If anyone has had a similar experience, I would love to hear about it. Maybe I only need to add the pranayama when my energy levels start to get a bit unwieldly? Any thought would be very much appreciated.
Best Regards,
Shane

chas

USA
209 Posts

Posted - Oct 07 2011 :  8:49:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi, Shane