Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 I'm confused
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jamesrgarrett

USA
11 Posts

Posted - Aug 28 2011 :  12:53:19 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing deep meditation with some pranayama now for about 3 years. I took about a year and one half off after my brother died (due to anger, loss of inertia, or whatever). I started back full force with deep meditation about 5 weeks ago and added 5 minutes of spinal breathing about 2 weeks ago.

But, I feel lost.

I can pretty well trace my breathing in my spinal column. However, it gets lost at just about the navel both going out and coming back in. Will practice improve this?

More importantly though is my deep meditation. Within a week or so of beginning, I could sort of jump or step into sort of a different place which I interpret as my inner stillness. Now, I slip into it almost immediately after beginning "I am." But, I don't go any where. I don't know where to concentrate. Often, I find myself concentrating on my eyes. Of course, everything is black with occasional rushes of energy and white waves. I sometimes try to focus at a deeper place but it doesn't particularly lead to anything. Should I be concentrating on this more inner place? Should I just let the "I am" take me where it goes? That feels lazy. Most of the time, I sort of lose the "I am" along with no thoughts. It seems like that is the goal but I don't know. Can someone please help me? Jim

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Aug 28 2011 :  1:30:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi James,

Spinal breathing. No need to worry about getting lost, just carry on past the confused part to end at the brow or root. It will come with time.