Tantra - A Holistic View of Spiritual Development
 ladies - siddha yoni asana?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Radharani

USA
843 Posts

Posted - Aug 06 2011 :  02:48:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit Radharani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Fellow yoginis, I'm wondering about siddha yoni asana (advanced siddhasana for women). Have any of you had success with this asana and if so, can you give me pointers? I only learned about it very recently, on AYP http://www.aypsite.org/T28.html, which is amazing since I have been doing yoga for 35 years and NOBODY else that I know of is teaching this. I REALLY wish somebody had told me about it many, many years ago as I'm sure it would have been extremely helpful! I don't know how useful it will be to me at this point as I already have plenty of sexual energy flowing up the spine nearly continually, but as Gilda Radner said in the Jewess Jeans commercial on Saturday Night Live, "but, it couldn't hurt!" It seems like a really fabulous idea in theory, but thus far my experiments have been disappointing. I am skinny and my pelvic bones are narrow, so my heel tends to press against the bones, which accomplishes nothing. I tried sitting on my waterbed with back against the headboard, but sank down too far for a good meditation position. On the floor using a cushion under my butt I was able to get the heel into a good position, BUT this resulted in asymmetric legs and lack of balance. (I am accustomed to sitting in lotus or half lotus which results in a stable posture with plenty of sexual energy rising in the spine.) If I move the foot forward I can get better balance but then the heel is too far forward of the muladhara position, although some stimulation does occur... I recall many years ago studying the siddhasana instructions in such books as "The Complete Illustrated Book of Yoga" by Vishnudevananda, written for men; the text said merely, "this posture is