Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Thoughts in meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

shalu5

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2011 :  11:27:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All
I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post. I starting practising AYP about 3 months back. No meditation experience before. When I started meditating there used to be too many thoughts in my mind, but after about a month I think they had become much lesser and I was mostly on I ams. Now for about a couple of weeks the thoughts seem to have increased. They completely take over the I ams which they never did before. Also, most of these thoughts are not important, so not sure why my mind is bringing them up. Should I be concerned about this change or is it normal?
As such I have experienced a lot of benefit from these practises. My anxiety levels went down a lot. I was able to make some life decisions which were needed, but I couldn't really commit too. I might regret them later, but for now they give me peace of mind.
Also, there have been incidents which have made me believe that I'll have help whenever I need it, even coming from unexpected sources or strangers.
Shalu

maheswari

Lebanon
2516 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2011 :  12:43:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Should I be concerned about this change or is it normal?

all is normal dont worry...keep it up
Go to Top of Page

nearoanoke

USA
525 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2011 :  1:21:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Shalu,

Deep Meditation is not for reducing the thoughts. Thoughts can be there along with the mantra and it is fine as long as you are actively repeating the mantra than thinking the thoughts actively. There is no need to push away the thoughts, whenever you observe them, just come back to mantra.