Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 New to Deep Meditation and not much happening
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

moonshine

United Kingdom
3 Posts

Posted - Apr 20 2011 :  11:14:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello fellow travellers,

I am a Reiki Master and experienced meditator (Vipassana and Zazen). I started practicing Deep Meditation about a week and a half ago after reading the book. Initially, I was experiencing some irritation afterwards so I've extended the rest period to ten minutes. I am still experiencing some minor irritation and anxiety but am more aware of these reactions now. However, I have not really noticed any difference in myself but have been having some very vivid and often disturbing dreams. Other than that, I haven't experienced the rising peace and stillness that most practitioners have reported after such a relatively short time with the technique. I plan to continue with it, but I was wondering if there was a reason for this.

Love to you all.

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Apr 20 2011 :  11:24:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome to the AYP forums, Moonshine.

How long do you meditate for (each session)? Maybe cut back on meditation time and increase the rest period by some more.

What time is your second practice? Close to bed time? That sometimes can cause vivid dreams.

Also, the benefits (rising peace and stillness ) may not be obvious yet, main reason for this is we have an idea of what rising peace and stillness should feel like. Give it a bit more time, you will feel it, may not be as you have imagined it... but you will definitely feel it.